Skip to main navigation Skip to content

Membership of SHEEC

The role of the Scottish Higher Education Enhancement Committee is to support and promote quality enhancement of the student learning experience within Scottish higher education and to ensure that Higher Education in Scotland continues to be at the forefront in terms of developing and enhancing the student learning experience and student success.

Members of the Committee are senior colleagues from across the sector who have institutional responsibility for teaching and learning (e.g. Vice-Principals, Assistant Principals or other staff with similar institution-wide responsibilities) and have a pivotal role in supporting the embedding of effective enhancement-led approaches to managing quality in higher education institutions.

Every Scottish HEI has a representative on the Committee. There is also a student member and observers of SFC, NUS, sparqs, US TQF, and HEA.

Please click on each institutional member's name for a biography and photograph.

  Member Institution
Chair: Peter McGeorge University of Aberdeen
Institutional members: Roni Bamber Queen Margaret University
  Kyrsten Black Scotland's Rural College
  Gary Campbell University of the Highlands and Islands
  Claire Carney University of the West of Scotland
  Sara Carter University of Strathclyde
  Andrew Comrie The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
  James Dunphy Robert Gordon University
  Moira Fischbacher-Smith University of Glasgow
  Alison Gilmour The Open University in Scotland
  Vicky Gunn Glasgow School of Art
  Tina Harrison University of Edinburgh
  Karl Leydecker University of Dundee
  Lorna Milne University of St Andrews
  Alastair Robertson Abertay University
  John Sawkins Heriot-Watt University
  Valerie Webster Glasgow Caledonian University
  Brian Webster-Henderson Edinburgh Napier University
  Tim Whalley University of Stirling
Observers: Jack Aitken Teaching Quality Forum
  Rob Henthorn NUS Scotland
  Murray Hope Higher Education Academy
  Eve Lewis sparqs
  Kirsty Conlon Universities Scotland
  Alison Cook Scottish Funding Council
Student members: Matt Adie University of Stirling
  Heidi Vistisen Queen Margaret University
QAA Scotland Rowena Pelik QAA Scotland